Dirty Freaking Rubbish

Alrighty! I HAVE GOOD NEWS EVERYONE!

………………………….

I HAVE A WORKING 3DS COMPUTER AT HOME NOW. *Cue raucous applause*

Okay! So my excellent boyfriend completely fixed his old computer so that I can finally do my work at home without asking him to stop his own programming work from being completed. Yay! Which means that I spent my whole afternoon today modelling for the Bird Life game. And this time I decided to tackle the rubbish! Hooray!

I know what you’re thinking. “Dakota, rubbish is so insignificant, why would you spend so long on such an unnecessary detail?”
BECAUSE THE CHARACTER IS A TINY BIRD WHO SEES EVERY LITTLE THING. THAT’S WHY.

So! After much deliberation with Pat, another programmer working on the game, we finally came to an agreement on how much/what types of rubbish shall be littering our level.

PROCESS: BEGIN!

First off I made the rubbish bags, pretty basic. They were just pyramids that I then cut the tops off, added some loops and modified to give a bit of volume and random shape. The tops of the bags are just the lines on the top-centre of the bag extruded up, then scaled in to be thinner. I then welded vertices together to give them a flat, plane-like look. Voila!

Rubb01UVRubb02UV

They were a bit of a pain to unwrap, but tbh, it’s rubbish, so I don’t care too much at this point. XD

Next, I made a can, it’s a cylinder, cool.

CanUV

Fun time! Chip Packet & Chips

So I then made a chip packet, which is basically just a modified box. The chips are obviously boxes as well, duh. Despite these being so basic, I actually had a lot of fun making these/figuring out how to unwrap the bag in new ways. I think I’m the only one in this class who enjoys unwrapping objects and I honestly can’t explain why :S haha

The chips had to be modelled separately because they’re going to be a food source for the birds in the game. Unwrapping them was easy, but because they all had to be done individually and then layered on top of each other for the UV Map, it took a long time XD

ChipUV

Chips&Packet

Next was a kind of rush job (I was getting really sick of rubbish by this point) of the rest of the rubbish items: The bin, dumpster, newspaper and coffee.

Rubb04UVRubb03UV

It’s hard to see because of the checker pattern, but the dumpster’s lids have grooved indents, and it looks rad, and I’m proud of it okay? Okay.

Anyway – that’s it! I had a lot of fun, annnnnd YAY RUBBISH!

Rubb05UV

Edit: All of these models have since been exported and tested in Unity, and are all in working order! Hooray! 😀

4 thoughts on “Dirty Freaking Rubbish

  1. Holeh crap. Nice modelling and stuff! I’m surprised you smashed out that many assets in a day. Though they are kinda simple I guess. The chip packet and trash bags look amazing even if they are garbage. HA HA HA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

