Low Poly Modelling

So with the game, Bird Life, everything is meant to look low-poly, and have that simple, papercraft look to it.

I found I was having a lot of trouble trying to achieve that look for a lot of my work, so I went back, looked up a really helpful tutorial from here: http://cgi.tutsplus.com/tutorials/secrets-to-creating-low-poly-illustrations-in-blender–cg-31770 and went for it 🙂

It’s a tutorial for Blender, but I figured I could still take lessons from it and use them for 3DS 🙂
Mountain

I learnt how to use the soft selection tool in 3DS, and it really helped make things a lot more smooth and simplistic 😀

It really helped me understand the need for the right lighting colour/attenuation/positioning.

In the end, I ended up with this scene, and I’m really happy with it!
Yay for learning new things/updating your brain XD

Mountain2

Woop!

Leave a Reply

